Gold Industry Awards 2023

The Australian Gold Conference awards took place on Tuesday 29th August in the Pearl Ballroom at Crown Barangaroo Sydney. The awards celebrate those who have made a difference to the industry.

There are three awards in total and this years worthy winners are:

The Gavin Thomas Mining Award – Ian Chalmers, Alkane Exploration

The Maggie Bullion Award – Janie Simpson, ABC Bullion

The James Dines Hall of Fame Award – Jake Klein, Evolution Mining

Congratulations to each of this years winners!

Nominate for the 2024 awards

The James Dines Hall of Fame Award

This award will be presented to an individual that has been an inspiration to the precious metals industry, they have the respect and admiration of their peers and have executed ongoing outstanding achievements in their career supportive to others.

Past award winners are: Don Mackay Coghill, Eric Sprott, Ian Plimer. Owen Hegarty and has now been awarded posthumously to Mr James Dines in remembrance of his service to the precious metals industry. The award was posthumously given to Mr James Dines given his love of precious metals as well as his long-time newsletter and his books written about investing in precious metals and specifically gold. From
2022 the award will be named the James Dines Hall of Fame Award.

The Gavin Thomas Mining Award is named after the long-time Kingsgate Consolidated managing director and chief executive officer Gavin Thomas, who sadly passed away in Sydney in 2014, aged just 63. 

Gavin was a brilliant geologist and a passionate advocate of the mining industry. He was declared a mining legend by his peers in 2005.

In honour of Gavin’s life-long dedication to the industry, the Australian Gold Conference decided to recognise an individual or a company that has demonstrated not only dedication to their industry but along the way created a strong team ethic and maintained a great joie de vivre, which was a hallmark of Gavin’s life.

The winner of the 2022 award was De Grey Mining for growing one of Australia’s most exciting new gold discoveries at Hemi within the Mallina gold project. Hemi defied all naysayers and is growing in size each year.

The Maggie Bullion Award
Affectionately known as ‘The Maggie’

This award will be given to an individual or company that shows initiative and exceptional customer service in the precious metals industry. Just like the lady, Cheryl Holt, whom the award was named after the recipient will be a company or individual that has shown quality of service, industry knowledge, and contribution to the community and good/consistent communication.

The winner of the 2022 award was Bullion Now which was established in 2018 when a semi-retired commercial pilot turned bee-keeper with a penchant for collectible coins realized his little country coin shop customers were increasingly asking him about this strange offshoot of the collectible coin genre….  “bullion”.

With a dedication to education, the team at Bullion Now have been putting themselves out there on YouTube producing informative content and holding weekly live streams where the customer is able to get even the curliest questions answered.


The Annual Gold Awards past winners

Year Gavin Thomas Mining Award The Maggie Bullion Award James Dines Hall of Fame Award
2014 John Nethery Gold Stackers  
2015 Jake Klein Bron Suchecki  
2016 Mark Clark Jordan Eliseo Don Mackay Coghill
2017 Bob Vassie Terina Hooper Eric Sprott
2018 Ian Murray Julian Haskard Ian Plimer
2019 Peter Cook John Feeney  Owen Hegarty
2022 De Grey Mining Bullion Now James Dines
2023 Ian Chalmers Janie Simpson Jake Klein

Nominate Award

This year is the 8th annual gold awards and will be held on Tuesday 29th August in the Pearl Ballroom at Crown in Sydney. The awards will take place at the close of the first day of the Australian Gold Conference and aims to celebrate individuals and/or companies that have made an impact in the gold sector. Nominations are now open and we encourage you to vote for who you think is most deserving


Missed any of the 2023 Australian Gold Conference? Watch Online now